Day #3: Hey, Life Alert… It’s time you expand your consumer base!

A little aside: Day #2 had even more readers than Day #1, a number that was for reals closer to 100 than 0! This is both thrilling and unbelievable because my luck is about as irregular as Jamie Lee Curtis before Activia. Keep up the good work, kids!

This winter break, I decided to take a break from my college town and move back to the ‘burbs with my parents for about a month. There are about 8 good things about that decision and about 238329 terrible ones, but that’s another story for another day. One of the good things is that I’ve had a lot (and I mean A LOT) of time to watch TV. And we all know who watches weekday daytime T.V.

  • People who never went to college (and probably didn’t graduate high school) and thus are led to believe they could make millions from their own living room or that going to college in their pajamas is REALLY the best way to do it,
  • Stay-at-home-Moms (housewives, homemakers, whatever the term is) who may have a minute or two of peace to catch The Doctors or something else educational and gross before their monstrous children/husbands return, and
  • Old people.
  • One commercial that is clearly targeted marketing to the 70+ crowd? LIFE ALERT. We’ve all seen Nana struggling on the floor (and probably laughed at it once or twice, whether inside or out, especially if it was pre-2000’s new marketing campaign) with a lackluster “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.” Button? Pushed. Help? On  the way. Best present you ever decided to force upon get your elderly parents? Life Alert.

    I have a serious, serious problem with this commercial. I am in my 20s, and I have a FAR greater need for Life Alert than my Nana. This woman is like an 80 year old Chuck Norris; she has fallen and she always gets up. The lady even moves her own furniture. I however, live a lifestyle that puts me and my 3 roommates at a far greater need for Life Alert. Some reasons include (but are not limited to the following): our 100-year-old 2-story house is made of wood with no insulation and has lead-based paint which keeps the windows sealed shut, we are poor and refuse to turn the gas on so we always use space heaters, the house has caught fire before, our entire flooring is original HARDwood which has been known to leave bruises and fractures on the asses/faces of drunk people, we’ve had gas leaks, and we live in a crime-infested college town historic district. It’s a veritable hell/shit hole disguised as a Southern Historic Home. Damned place doesn’t even have a driveway… and every day and night I spend there I am facing certain death.

    Hey, Life Alert, grab your trifocals and read between the lines… YOU COULD MAKE MILLIONS IF YOU’D EXPAND YOUR MICRO-SPECIFIC CONSUMER BASE!!! You could take full advantage of stupid college girls with deep pockets who live in crappy old college houses. In fact, if you expanded your marketing base away from Nana, you could probably catch every other Cat-Lady Hermit (read, me in 40 years) who is likely to fall and be found dead, half-eaten by her cat. You could reach all those people on HOARDERS who literally get stuck in their own trash mires. All those reclusive chess players and mathmeticians they convince brilliant actors to play have near-constant panic/anxiety attacks that would bring in some major money and publicity if they had life alert.

    You seem to forget, dear Life Alert, that hermits, recluses, drunkards, clinically insane persons, and cat ladies come in all shapes, ages, and sizes; and cats don’t have opposable thumbs to dial 911. In fact, they’d probably rather you die so you’d stop dressing them up as Santa and teaching them the dance moves to Bad Romance. I guarantee Life Alert that they’d make millions if they made a commercial with a drunk college kid Life Alerting the paramedics because he’s “busted ass” and he can’t get up. Or if they showed Antoine Fisher Life Alerting after he got beaten by that wet rag. Sure, they can sleep at night just a-waitin’ for the Baby Boomers, but there’s plenty of money to be made elsewhere.

    They claim to save a life every 26 minutes… They could make that every 13 minutes if they took my advice… and probably every 7 between the hours of 12 midnight and 4 AM. But go ahead, stick with your niche market. Just don’t be mad when I say “I told you so” next time my house catches on fire.

    http://www.lifealert.com/index.html

    3 Comments

    Filed under Best Ideas Ever, Cat Lady, college, drinking, humor, Lazy, life, musings

    3 responses to “Day #3: Hey, Life Alert… It’s time you expand your consumer base!

    1. dufmanno

      You are a fucking genius. I actually SAW an episode of Hoarders last week where the lady got sandwiched in between the wall and the mounds of garbage and sat there for TWO days until someone pulled her out.
      Sorry your house caught fire, but you need to invest in an Amish space heater to better the quality of your life.

      • Well, in all fairness to my humble abode, its had about 8312398 residents in its century, and my landlord says some girl who used to live there left a candle burning and caught the plaster on fire while she was asleep (passed out?) one night.

        And Hoarders is my HELL. I feel very sorry for those people, but I get anxiety when I watch it. Its like people living in a quicksand of dead cats and tinker toys. *shudder*

    2. Good writing so far… moves along briskly, slides a few jokes in here-and-there, and has goofy category-tags at the end. Keep up the splenditidy.

    Leave a Reply

    